If You’re Going to San Francisco

At the beginning of this month, I took a fabulous road trip to San Francisco with my sister – we took her car, because it has an iPod jack, but we spend the entire 12 hours talking.

We’d both been to SF before, so there was no pressure to see and do everything. We also have similar tastes, so we enjoyed visiting the City Lights bookstore and eating a lot of delicious food.

Often I purchase used books, but I wanted to support City Lights, a female author, and I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while.

At Tartine Bakery, we had a croissant with Niman Ranch ham and cheese, the Idiazabal & Membrillo hot pressed sandwich – that’s lightly smoked sheep cheese with quince jam – and a coconut cream tart. …I’m making myself hungry.

When we walked into Humphry Slocombe, my sister and I had the same thought – what if I don’t/Taylor doesn’t like anything here? Of their exotic flavors, Secret Breakfast is one of the most popular. Bourbon and cornflakes. Am I weird for liking normal *classic?* flavors? We tried almost every one and finally, thought I’d first turned my nose up at it, discovered that the Oolong was incredible. We both the got the same thing – a scoop of Oolong on a brown sugar cone. YUM.

Not surprisingly, I did not get any writing done while I was there, though I visited a friend in my writers’ group. On the way home from SF I stopped in SB, however, where I had a wonderful day of writing and visiting the beach. The third draft nears ever closer, especially since I’ve got a deadline – I’ve told my readers I’ll be done by the first week in August, at which point I will send my manuscript to them. So far, everyone has agreed to read the draft and write notes within two months, and then attend an online critique, to take place by mid-October. Suddenly I realize I have less than two weeks to finish!

There is an underlying terror – what if I don’t finish, first of all. What if I “finish” and it’s terrible. What if the pride I feel at finishing this draft is short-lived, because I’m soon to discover that I have to go back and revise it at least 15 times? I have to let all this go and simply keep working.

There is always more to change, more to add, more to cut, the “better level” I wish for – but I will finalize an acceptable draft in the next 11 days.

2 thoughts on “If You’re Going to San Francisco

  1. i can’t wait for you to read it as a whole too! i imagine it will be much easier to follow, and you will have some brilliant comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

