A Mitten New Year

My approximate location.

My approximate location.

Happy New Year’s Eve! This year, I am celebrating in Michigan. It is my first time here and I am doing all manner of new, exciting things: meeting my boyfriend’s extended family, rooting for the Michigan State University football team, cross-country skiing, visiting the Detroit Institute of the Arts (where I saw 6 of the surviving 42 Fabergé eggs!).

Me and my boyfriend ready for action! This California girl is not used to 24 degree weather - I am wearing two down jackets and 3 pairs of pants!

Me with my boyfriend ready for action! This California girl is not used to 24 degree weather – I am wearing two down jackets and 3 pairs of pants!

I don’t usually go in for New Year’s resolutions, because the fad is to create them and forget about them by February. Why not have goals and work on them all year round? Yes, however, I believe in goals, and my main goal for 2013 is: acquire an agent. And, oh yeah, publish this thing! My mentor cautions that many writers often don’t publish the first book they write, or they publish it later in their careers. While I keep this in mind, I still operate with the goal of publishing my first book, first.

Another exciting thing I will be taking on this coming year? I have been asked to facilitate a book group discussion in March. I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about how this will be different from leading discussions about fiction to a writer’s group. As a writer, thinking about the effect your work will have is inevitable, but it’s something you can’t dwell on too much. Studying literature is a necessity, but sometimes we forget the beauty in the midst of dissecting. I’m looking forward to being immersed in discussion of those who read simply for the appreciation of literature.

cross-country skiing 2

4 thoughts on “A Mitten New Year

Leave a Reply

