The Space Between

The truth is, between the holidays, traveling to Yosemite for 5 days and Michigan for 10, and getting knocked out for a week and a half by the flu, I haven’t been writing. I don’t mean just not working on the novel, I mean not writing at all. Not even journaling.

I’ve written a ton of thank you notes, sure. This does not count.

thank you notes

For the first week it was nice. A well-deserved, much needed break. By week three I was starting to get the itch. And now I’m on the verge of despair. What’s happened to me? What am I doing? Why am I not doing this?

This morning, at the suggestion of a member of my writers’ group, I wrote a 100-word flash fiction entry for a website that features, you guessed it, 100-word stories. Oh, it felt good. The usual voices were there – This is crap! What are you doing? You call this writing? You call this fiction? You call this a story?? The voices are always loudest when I go back after not writing for a while. They’re loud, too, when I start something brand new.

But the loudest voice of all? That was the one that screamed, One hundred words? Good job, good start, but not enough! KEEP WRITING!

2 thoughts on “The Space Between

  1. Hi Taylor, I’ve come to your blog through Gardener’s World :). I know what you mean about that mean voice, the inner censor. When I’m prevented from writing, usually by family things, I get irritable and nasty. It’s like a drug, I’ve got to have my dose.

    • Hi Henrietta! Yes, I’ve heard from many writers that writing isn’t something we want to do, it’s something we HAVE to do. And that inner censor never goes away! …I’ve enjoyed checking out your blog, and I noticed you have had a short story published and won a contest. Congrats! Do you have any tips/advice for submitting work? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

